Bristol Selects Next President

The Bristol Community College Board of Trustees is pleased to announce its recommendation to the Board of Higher Education that Laura L. Douglas be appointed Bristol Community College’s next president. The recommendation must be approved by the Board of Higher Education and is subject to a contract agreement.

Laura Douglas, currently the Provost at Des Moines Area Community College (DMACC) in Des Moines, Iowa, was selected from a highly skilled pool of candidates following an extensive nationwide search.

“Laura is a highly accomplished educator and leader with a deep commitment to higher education that has spanned more than 25 years,” said Joseph A. Marshall, RFC ’78, Chairman, Board of Trustees. “Laura demonstrated a strong appreciation and value for diversity in its broadest sense. Her proven success has shown a true commitment to removing barriers and closing gaps throughout College constituencies and the community at-large. She will expand upon the innovative and visionary leadership that Bristol Community College needs for continued success and growth for the future.”

The Board of Trustees was unanimous in their decision that Douglas was the strongest candidate out of an outstanding pool of candidates. The Board of Trustees and College Community look forward to welcoming Douglas as Bristol Community College’s next president. 

Douglas has served in her current role at Des Moines Area Community College since 2005. She previously served as the Vice President for Instructional and Student Services for Randolph Community College, Asheboro, North Carolina. Douglas earned a Bachelor of Arts in Social Welfare from the University of Southern Maine, a Master of Arts in International Administration from the School for International Training in Brattleboro, Vermont, a Master of Arts in Higher Education and a Doctor of Philosophy in Higher Education from the University of Michigan. 

If Douglas is approved, she will become the fourth president in the 51-year history of Bristol Community College. President John J. Sbrega will retire in August after serving the College for 17 years. He succeeded Eileen Farley (1979-2000) and Jack Hudnall (1965-1979), the College’s founding president.